Spotlight Of The Week: Episode 3 Josh Carpenter

Posted: February 14, 2013 in February 2013
Tags: , , , ,

Image

Third week of Project Spotlight. This has been one of the more challenging projects I’ve worked on. Figuring out who to talk to and what to talk about has been the harder parts. Finding out interesting tidbits about the people around me and why they enjoy the hobby so much makes it all worth while. Today’s feature is one of my good friends that I’ve spent countless hours discussing the custom car world that we all live in. Here’s what long time competitor Josh Carpenter from Dillard, Georgia had to say.

What (or who) has been the biggest impact on you getting into custom cars and audio?

I grew up around cars and grew up racing karts / cars which of course sparked my interest in custom cars when I was 15 and got my first car.. My uncle had a Foxbody Mustang at the time with a Rockford system and was the first system I had ever truly listened to and I knew I wanted something similar so I jumped right in with a Audiobahn prefab box and amp. First show I ever attended had a USACI sound comp. which at the time I didn’t know there was such a thing. I metered for fun and ended up getting 2nd place with my prefab 10″ Audiobahn that no-body could believe that was all I had. From then I have been hooked.

Do you think it’s harder to be in both aspects (show and sound) than it is to be in just one?

It’s definitely harder to do both. For one the cost involved in keeping up with both show and sound is costly and the entry fees can rack up quicker when doing both. Also like in my case the rules get skewed out of favor like when “battery must be in factory location” but factory location doesn’t work on a bagged vehicle. There are sacrifices that have to be made though and have to decide which is more important and which can be put on the back burner.

Do you ever feel like you have to choose one or the other to please other people?

At times I feel like that especially after a show that has show only or sound only but at the end of the day I try to remember I’m building it for me to enjoy.

Do you think the older generation has problems accepting the younger competitors at shows?

The older generation seems to think that the music and burps are just a bunch of young punks that have nothing better to do.. In fact the last show I went to that had sound and show a couple of older guys were knocking my truck and made comments about how young kids do that when they looked inside and seen my batteries and amps… So they definitely discriminate against us sound guys.

What has been the best car show you have attended?

My favorite show I attended so far was the old NOPI Nationals back when they were at the speedway.. But since they are no longer (at least not the way they were then) then my favorite current show would have to be Spring Break Nationals.. Great location, great atmosphere and of course the best sound cars and some awesome demo / show cars on the show floor.

What is the one best piece of advice you have been given about the car show scene?

Well I have learned a lot since I started and have received some good advice but actually one my the biggest things I have learned is that there is always some who is louder, someone with more money and someone who is always willing to knock you down a peg or two.. I will admit I used to be cocky about it and a good friend at a show ended up setting me straight on a few things… In short I got beat by an SQ car in a SPL competition and I learned a huge lesson that day.. I am thankful for it and he knows who he is…

Image

I hope these articles are able to give people a new outlook on how those that are in the audio and custom car hobby actually are. There is nothing that these people wouldn’t do for their friends when in need.

Showing the love for friends and love for the hobby on valentine’s day! Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

