Spotlight Of The Week: Episode 2 Zach Taylor

Posted: February 7, 2013 in February 2013
Tags: , ,

2nd installment of Project Spotlight takes us to the small town of Hiawassee, Georgia. Hiawassee is the hometown of this week’s feature, Zach Taylor.

When did you first get interested in car audio?

Jeez, it probably first sparked my interest when I was in middle school. I always thought it was cool hearing the high school kids in the parking lot with their setups blasting. I’ve been hooked ever since.

Do you think people that specialize in audio are looked down upon at car shows?

Of course, and it sucks! We get a bad wrap, mainly because of a small percentage of the community who doesn’t know how to be respectful. It’s sad that a community that pretty much any member of would give the shirt off his back to help another gets looked down upon the way it does.

Do you think being on an audio team gives you an advantage in competition?

Any time you can be around a group of people interested in the same hobby there is an opportunity to learn something. Car audio is a game where there is ALWAYS something to learn. Gives those less experienced a chance to learn from those who have been around, and a helping hand is never a bad thing if an issue arises!

If there was one thing you could change about how the world views the hobby, what would it be?

I’d like for everyone to actually be able to see the community for what it is, a group of people who would do anything for one another. A group who will help out in any way possible. Not just a bunch of punks who disturb everyone at red lights.

Do you think it’s important to try to help steer the “next generation” of bassheads towards the right products or do you think they should figure out what is right or wrong on their own?

I think it’s important to help when you can. I personally don’t like to push my opinions on equipment on others as everyone is allowed to like/run whatever they like. I do however enjoy sharing the knowledge I’ve picked up over the years to help steer them in the right direction in the hobby in general. It’s important because they are the future of this hobby.

How has social media like Facebook and car audio forums helped you in your own builds?

I think in a way it’s helped, and in a way it’s hindered. I almost miss the days when everything was more secretive. You didn’t know what changes might have been made until you pull up at a show. Made you always have to stay on your toes. Also seemed back before the forums/Facebook, that there was a lot less nonsense and pointless drama popping up. On the other hand, the amount of knowledge that can be shared now can make the difference from someone being happy with their Sony Xplods and Legacy amps to someone becoming a big time member in the audio community. It helps spread the knowledge and word of the hobby to people who otherwise might not realize any of it. If I had to lean a direction on whether it helped or hindered more, I would definitely say it helped more. I know that I myself have learned a good bit from reading the forums/groups/etc and I’ve seen several people learn and their builds grow.

Do you have any words of wisdom for those reading?

Never be afraid to ask questions. A question not asked is a question not answered. Never be too proud to ask for advice, and sometimes it’s better to sit back and listen. I know those would have helped me tremendously along the way!

……

And there you have it. Hearing is not the same as listening. Allowing is not the same as acceptance and understanding. There is a bigger family in this hobby than anyone could imagine, and I, for one, am glad to be a part of it. No matter how small.
Until next time…

Leave a Reply

