Spotlight Of The Week Episode 1: Russell Mcever

Posted: January 31, 2013 in January 2013

Today is the start of a new project of mine. I’ve been thinking about how many stereotypes there are out there when concerning the custom audio/car hobby. “All people with loud stereos are obnoxious teenagers with no respect for anyone.” “All people who drive custom vehicles have way too much money and should spend it on more practical things.” So, this will be an ongoing project as I get to know more about those who have made cars and audio a major part of their lives and ask a few questions on what it really means to them. First up is a great guy named Russell Mcever from Marietta, Georgia.

How did you get into the audio hobby?

When I was 14, a friend of my dad’s came over and had a system. I was immediately hooked. I started my 1st system at the age of 14. My first car was a 1972 VW Bug with 2 10’s.

In your opinion, what is a “basshead”?

A basshead is someone who just can never get enough bass, and wants everyone to turn it up.

Do you think people in the audio or custom vehicle hobby have a prejudice against them?

Sure, and it’s sad actually, because they are missing out. We are some of the ones that will give their last dollar to help a fellow out.

Do people treat you differently when they find out that you have a system in your car?

Sadly, yes. Racial slurs are still thrown at me, too. 😦

How does having a bass family help you in your day to day life?

I have met so many different types of people with this hobby, and they are always there. I know mechanics, I know painters, I know someone basically for every walk of life. What google can’t do, they take up the slack.

Do you like how social media has made it easier to help others with problems they may be having and the closeness/camaraderie it brings?

Sure do. I never get enough. I have always been a do it yourselfer, and I love all the doors social media opens. How it brings all the bassheads, at least in the continental US, together as one.

Or, do you think it has created more animosity and competition towards each other?

Animosity is always going to be there because some people, like myself, are real competitive. For the most part though, I try my best to treat everyone the same.

Do you think being a member of a car club/team helps with the competition or does it make you more of a target?

Both. Targets usually come with being loud or louder than most in your class, etc. That being said, I love my club and they love me. I couldn’t see myself competing without them. I talk to everyone though, and enjoy talking to other club’s members as well.

If there was one thing you would want people to remember about you, what would it be?

My heart.

I really hope this helps others understand the love and friendship that comes with being in this hobby. The bonds that form from a common interest, and continue as that common ground grows into respect for one another. Until next time!

Comments
  1. Larry says:

    Love it! Nice article 🙂

  2. Amp Pope says:

    Russ, thanks for representing us all in your short word. Bass.

Leave a Reply

